Edwards named North Division Player of Year


t was a great year for our local boys basketball teams as 13 players received Southeast Iowa Super Conference North Division All-Conference honors. The group was led by Lone Tree’s Keegan Edwards who was named North Division Player of the Year.

Edwards wrapped up his high school career in style by leading the Lions in points (21.1 points per game), rebounding (197), and assists (157). He also brought it on the defensive end as he collected 49 steals and blocked 17 shots.

Three area players joined Edwards with North Division First Team accolades: Highland’s Zack Lasek and Mason McFarland and Hillcrest Academy’s Eli Ours. Lasek and McFarland ended their careers as the Huskies’ leading scorers this season. Lasek averaged 16.7 points per game while McFarland added a 14.4 scoring average. Lasek shot more than 50% from the floor (53.7) and pulled down 257 rebounds to lead the squad. McFarland led Highland with 66 made 3-pointers. Ours led the Ravens in offensive and defensive categories this season. The junior averaged 18.0 points per game and tallied 78 assists while collecting 60 steals.

Highland’s Cole Adamson, Lone Tree’s Cory Krueger, and Hillcrest’s Kobe Borntrager are represented on the North Division Second Team. Adamson was third on the Huskies with 11.6 points per game and shot 39.3 percent from 3-point range while draining 44 from distance. He led the squad with 72 assists. Krueger averaged just shy of 10 points per game with a 9.1 average. He was second on the Lions with 178 rebounds and led with 32 blocks. Borntrager was second on the Ravens with a 13.7 scoring average while shooting 60.7% from the floor. He led the squad in rebounding (122) and blocked shots (14).

Receiving North Division Honorable Mention honors were: Highland’s Derick Sandburg and Bill Laughlin, Lone Tree’s Cale Yoder and Tyler McCullough, and Hillcrest’s John Hughes and Noah Miller.

Pekin’s John Swanson was named North Division Coach of the Year.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment